website security
  The metal
  • 1n3041
  • 2 Amberian dawn walpaper
  • 3 Amberian dawn wallpaper
  • 4 Amberian Dawn wallpaper

Dutch   Tour dates  Videos   Live Videos   All Music  

Amberian Dawn is a Finnish metal band, formed in 2006 by Tuomas Seppälä  and Tommi Kuri. Their fifth album Re-Evolution (a re-recorded compilation with new singer) was released on KHY Suomen Musiikki & Encore Music in summer 2013. Their latest album Innuendo was released on October 23 of 2015 via Napalm Records.

Atheme One (2006–2008)

Several of the members that would later form Amberian Dawn previously played in the group Virtuocity, and after Virtuocity's breakup they formed a new band, based on keyboardist and guitarist Tuomas Seppälä's songwriting. The band was named Atheme One and had Peter James Goodman as their lead singer and lyricist. The band released a demo in 2006 featuring four songs, "Dreamchaser", "Velvet Roses", "Burning Touch" and "World of Insanity", three of which would later be remade into Amberian Dawn songs: an instrumental version of "Dreamchaser" appears as a bonus track on River of Tuoni, "Velvet Roses" appears with lyrics by Heidi Parviainen as "Sons of Seven Stars" on The Clouds of Northland Thunder and "World of Insanity" appears with new lyrics as "Ghostly Echoes" on End of Eden.

During the summer of 2006, shortly after the release of the first demo, Seppälä and Kuri began searching for a female vocalist with high technical skills to replace Goodman, feeling he wasn't right for the music. Around the time they placed an ad, they found another for soprano vocalist Heidi Parviainen, who had grown tired of her keyboard duties of Iconofear. After listening to her samples, they decided to set up a demo with her and the band. It turned out that she was exactly what they were looking for, due to her ability to both sing and contribute lyrics, after writing the lyrics to Passing Bells. This completed the band's lineup, now under the name of Amberian Dawn, the result of a day of brainstorming. In spite of having Goodman leave his position as singer, there were no hard feelings between him and the band, and he has made minor appearances on all three Amberian Dawn albums since.


Amberian Dawn classified themselves as "melodic, dramatic and powerful metal with female classical vocals, and ex-lead singer Heidi Parviainen has called their music "fast tempo, guitar driven metal with purely classical female vocals", while several other sources classify them as symphonic power metal, which the band has agreed sums it up, but also points out that there are many different styles that vary from song to song. In a September 2010 interview, Seppälä defines their music: "Amberian Dawn's music is melodic metal, and the roots lie in the Metal and Rock music of the 70s and 80s and maybe a little bit of the '90s. There are a lot of technical skills within the band, so everyone who's not scared of serious guitar and keyboard shredding should listen to our music."


Many critics have compared Amberian Dawn to other female fronted metal acts such as Nightwish, but Seppälä has denied any real connection, but also said that any connections are up to the listener seeing as everyone listens to music their own way, and he has pointed out that it's "very funny that no one has yet figured out the real influences behind our music".

Tuomas Seppälä has called his two big musical heroes Ritchie Blackmore and the late Ronnie James Dio, and listed Yngwie Malmsteen and ABBA as some of his influences.

Lyrical themes

All Amberian Dawn songs are composed by Tuomas Seppälä, who then sent them to Heidi Parviainen who came up with their stories and writes the lyrics depending on her mood and inspiration. The lyrics were often influenced by Finnish and Norse mythology, and many songs reference the Finnish national poem Kalevala, most obviously songs such as "Kokko - Eagle of Fire" of The Clouds of Northland Thunder, and "Sampo" from End of Eden. The title of their second album The Clouds of Northland Thunder, as well as a bonus track on End of Eden with the same title, is a direct quote from the English translation of the Kalevala.

Many other songs have lyrics with their own stories, either retellings of ancient legends, such as "Sons of Seven Stars" which is inspired by the book Seven Brothers by Aleksis Kivi, or brand new stories of Parviainen's imagination, such as "Virvatulen Laulu". 

Official Website   Tommi Kuri has passed away

All Languages



Former members

River of Tuoni (2008)

The Clouds of Northland Thunder (2009)

End of Eden (2010)

Circus Black (2012)

Re-Evolution (2013)

Magic Forest (2014)

Innuendo (2015)

Darkness of Eternity (2017) 

Tuomas Seppälä – keyboards, guitar             (2006–present)

Joonas Pykälä-aho – drums                   (2006–2010, 2012–present)

Emil "Emppu" Pohjalainen – guitars         (2008–2010, 2012–present)

Päivi "Capri" Virkkunen – vocals (2012–present)

Jukka Hoffren - bass guitar (2015–present; session 2014)

Sampo Seppälä – guitars (2006–2007)

Tom Sagar – keyboards (2006–2008)

Heikki "Joey Edith" Saari – drums  (2010–2012)

Tommi Kuri – bass (2006–2010)                       (died January 1, 2015)

Heidi Parviainen – vocals (2006–2012)

Kasperi Heikkinen – guitars (2007–2012)

Jukka Koskinen – bass (2010–2013)

Kimmo Korhonen – guitars (2010–2015)

Peter James Goodman - vocals  (2006)