website security
JanEmperadors-Metalarchives "The metal encyclopedia"

Go to Dutch  

Fairyland is a symphonic power metal band from France created in 1998 by songwriters Phillip Giordana and Willdric Lievin.

After going through several line-up changes in the 2000s, the band turned into a one-man musical project, when Giordana parted ways with the rest in the band in 2007. He subsequently released Score to a New Beginning in 2009 as Fairyland, with guest musicians and singers. In 2015 however, Fairyland became a band once again with a full line-up, including Lievin, returning for the first time since 2004.


The band was created in 1998 as "Fantasia" by keyboardist Philippe Giordana together with bassist/drummer Willdric Lievin. The two musicians shared the same passion for epic and symphonic Heavy Metal. Following the release of their first demo, Tribute to Universe, their basic metal style began evolving into something more fantastic and symphonic, as in Realm of Wonders.

Through various metal contacts, Fantasia enlisted guitarist Anthony Parker (Heavenly) and soon gave up looking for a label to enter Wizard Studio in Feb. 2002. During the recordings of their debut, the band began looking for a vocalist and they found Elisa C. Martin, already known for her work with the successful Spanish power metal band Dark Moor. Around that time, the band's name was changed to "Fairyland".

With their first full-length complete, they signed on with Denmark-based Intromental Management, and shortly thereafter secured a recording contract with the French label N.T.S. (now Replica Records).

Of Wars in Osyrhia was released in April 2003. The response from media and fans enabled the band to tour with Sonata Arctica in France, as well as to perform in the Sweden Rock Festival in 2003.

Internal band problems led to both Willdric Lievin and Elisa C. Martin leaving the band. The band continued on without them to finish the recordings for the new concept album The Fall of an Empire, again composed by Philippe Giordana and Anthony Parker, who had gathered a new line-up composed of vocalist Max Leclerqc (formerly of Magic Kingdom), drummer Pierre-Emmanuel "Piwee" Desfray, and bassist Thomas "Tom" Cesario.

The unreleased album soon caught the attention of the Austrian-based label Napalm Records, who signed the band and released The Fall of an Empire  in the fall of 2006, along with a re-release of Of Wars in Osyrhia. A European tour with Kamelot and Leaves' Eyes soon followed.

Shortly after the tour and the outstanding media feedback that followed the album, Philippe and the rest of the band parted ways. As the sole composer of Fairyland material, finding a new line-up would not pose much of a problem for Philippe Giordana. Yet after working on the new material, he decided to take a completely different approach by enlisting instead the services of guest musicians for his latest release. The album Score to a New Beginning was completed in 2009, keeping the same musical style of its predecessors.

It's unknown if there is going to be another Fairyland album, although the band gave out some hints.

Fairyland at Facebook   Interview Fairyland (English)   Interview Fairyland (German)    Fairyland at Napalm Records


Philippe Giordana - keyboards, backing vocals (1998-present)

Willdric Lievin - bass, backing vocals (1998-2004, 2015-present), drums (1998-2004; guest member: 2009)

Francesco Cavalieri - lead vocals (2015-present)

Jean-Baptiste Pol - drums (2015-present)

Sylvain Cohen - guitars (2015-present)

Former members

Thomas Caesar - bass (2000-2007)

Elisa C. Martin - lead vocals (2002-2003)

Anthony Parker - guitars (2002-2007)

Max Leclerq - lead vocals (2004-2007)

Pierre-Emmanuel Desfray - drums (2004-2007)


Go to Dutch  Go to YouTube Topic   

Ballads   Play all   

Heavy   Play all  


Eldanie Uelle    

The fall of an empire   

Ride with the sun   

In Duna   

Look into lost years   

Fight for your King   

Guardian stones   

The story remains   

Doryan the enlightened    

The fellowship   

A dark omen   

Heralds of the green lands